8.   POLAND

8.1     STATUS

8.2     NAZI-SOVIET PACT LINE

8.3     RUSSO-POLISH BORDER WAR

8.4     RUSSIAN ATTACK ON POLAND

8.5     POLISH DIPLOMACY

8.1  STATUS:

8.11  At the outbreak of war, Poland will be in one of the following five states:

A. ALLIED: If Poland was the target of a contested aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm and survives Germany’s initial attack, it becomes an Allied minor ally until conquered, is not an eligible diplomatic target, and the provisions of A World at War rule 64.41 apply.

B. GERMAN SATELLITE: If Germany was successful in carrying out aggression against Poland during Gathering Storm and Poland became a German satellite:

C. POLAND CONQUERED: If Germany was successful in carrying out aggression against Poland during Gathering Storm and conquered Poland:

D. DANZIG AND THE POLISH CORRIDOR CONQUERED: If Germany conquered Danzig and the Polish Corridor during Gathering Storm by successfully carrying out aggression against either Danzig and the Polish Corridor or Poland:

E. NEUTRAL: If Poland was not the target of German aggression in Gathering Storm, Poland is a neutral minor country worth 30 BRPs and is an eligible diplomatic target using the Polish diplomatic table.

8.2  NAZI-SOVIET PACT LINE:

8.21  If the Nazi-Soviet Pact is in effect at the outbreak of war, the Pact line can divide Poland in two ways:

A. BETWEEN CENTRAL AND EASTERN POLAND: Eastern Poland is a separate area worth 10 BRPs. This is the historical Pact line.

B. BETWEEN CENTRAL POLAND AND DANZIG AND THE POLISH CORRIDOR: Danzig and the Polish Corridor are a separate area worth 5 BRPs.

8.22 It is not possible for the Pact line to run along the German-Polish border, because Danzig and the Polish Corridor may not be taken by Russia as a Pact concession; it is not possible for the Pact line to run along the Russo-Polish border, because the Pact concession level can never be below 10 .

8.23 STATUS OF BORDER AREAS:

A. EASTERN POLAND: Eastern Poland exists as a separate entity from western Poland throughout the game, unless the Pact concession level doesn’t allow Russia to take eastern Poland (A World at War rule 64.31).

B. DANZIG AND THE POLISH CORRIDOR: Danzig and the Polish Corridor exists as a separate entity if:

C. DIPLOMACY: Units in eastern Poland and Danzig and the Polish Corridor do not modify diplomatic die rolls for Poland, regardless of the status of those areas.

8.3  RUSSO-POLISH BORDER WAR:

8.31 RUSSO-POLISH BORDER WAR: If the Nazi-Soviet Pact is in effect at the end of Gathering Storm as a result of a successful German aggression against Danzig and the Polish Corridor, leaving the rest of Poland intact, and the Pact line runs between eastern and central Poland, a border war may break out between Russia and Poland if Russia demands eastern Poland before Poland is conquered.

8.32 TRIGGERING A BORDER WAR:

A. INITIAL DEMAND: A Russo-Polish border war begins when Russia demands eastern Poland. The demand is made during the Allied diplomatic phase, regardless of the current RGT level.

B. POLISH RESPONSE: Poland automatically rejects the Russian demand, without the need for a diplomatic die roll for Poland, and a border war breaks out.

8.33 POLISH DEPLOYMENT: When a Russo-Polish border war breaks out:

A. One Polish 2-3 and 1-3 infantry unit must deploy in each city in the disputed area.

B. If Poland has only two 2-3 infantry units, it substitutes a 1-3 infantry unit in one of the cities.

C. The remaining Polish infantry units may deploy in any Polish hexes, including hexes in the disputed area, up to the normal stacking limit of two units per hex, as determined by the Axis player.

D. The two Polish AAF deploy in Warsaw.

8.34 DURATION: A Russo-Polish border war begins in the Russian player turn in which it demands eastern Poland and continues until Poland concedes the border hexes at the start of its player turn:

A. Poland may concede eastern Poland at the start of its player turn regardless of how many cities in eastern Poland (Vilna, Brest-Litovsk and Lvov) have been occupied by Russia.

B. If Russia has occupied Vilna, Brest-Litovsk and Lvov, Poland must concede the border area and the Russo-Polish border war ends.

8.35 FIGHTING A BORDER WAR: During a border war:

A. Russian units are subject to the following restrictions:

B. Polish units may attrition and/or conduct offensive operations at no BRP cost, but may not enter or attack into Germany or Russia.

C. Poland may rebuild two infantry factors each turn. The Polish air units may only be rebuilt if Poland later allies with Germany.

8.36 POLAND GIVES UP: If Poland renounces its claim to eastern Poland, Russia gains control of eastern Poland and the border war ends. Any Polish units remaining in eastern Poland are repatriated to central Poland. Eastern Poland remains a separate entity worth 10 BRPs for the remainder of the game, even if both eastern Poland and central Poland are later controlled by the same major power (A World at War rule 64.31).

8.4 RUSSIAN ATTACK ON POLAND:

NAZI-SOVIET PACT: If the Nazi-Soviet Pact is in effect, Russia may only attack a neutral Poland as follows:

A. POLAND ON THE GERMAN SIDE OF THE PACT LINE: If central Poland is on the German side of the Nazi-Soviet Pact line (8.21A), Russia may only attack Poland if Russo-German tensions have reached 25.

B. POLAND ON THE RUSSIAN SIDE OF THE PACT LINE: If central Poland is on the Russian side of the Nazi-Soviet Pact line (8.21B), Russia may attack Poland at any time, regardless of the Russo-German tension level.

8.42  NO NAZI-SOVIET PACT:  If the Nazi-Soviet Pact is not in effect, Russia may attack Poland once it mobilizes its fourth and final idle factory, unless Poland is controlled by the Axis (9.21G).

8.43  DECLARATION OF WAR REQUIRED:  A Russian attack on Poland proper requires a declaration of war costing 10 BRPs.

8.5  POLISH DIPLOMACY:

8.51  Unless Poland was conquered in Gathering Storm, the following diplomatic table is used for Poland. The basic Polish diplomatic modifier may vary from +2 (pro-Axis modifiers) to -2 (pro-Allied modifiers).

Poland

    (0)

General Modifiers:

  +/-3     Poland is an active minor ally following a diplomatic result of “10” or “-3”.

  +/-2     Poland is an associated minor country following a diplomatic result of “9” or “-2” or an enemy attack.

  +/-1     The Polish hexes are controlled by a major power following a diplomatic result of “8” or “-1”.

  +/-1     For each unbuilt Polish air or infantry unit.

  +/-1     For every five friendly ground/air factors in Poland.

  +/-1     For every five enemy ground/air factors in Poland.

Additional Modifiers:

     -2     If France has not fallen (applicable only if the Axis are making the diplomatic die roll).

     -2     If Danzig and the Polish Corridor are under Axis control either as a result of a successful German demand against Danzig and the Polish Corridor in Gathering Storm or a German-Polish border war.

    +1     If the Axis control Prague.

    +1     If the Axis control Bucharest.

    +1     If Russia has demanded or controls Bessarabia.

    +2     If Russia controls Bucharest.

    +2     If Russia has entered the Baltic States.

    +2     If Russia has demanded eastern Poland.

    +2     If Germany and Russia are at war or if Germany declares war on Russia in the current game turn (once this modifier is triggered, the German player must declare war on Russia).

 

Inertial Modifiers:

    +1     If the net diplomatic modifier, after any covert operations have been played, is negative.

     -1     If the net diplomatic modifier, after any covert operations have been played, is positive.

 

Results:

-3      Poland activates as an Allied minor ally.

-2      Poland becomes an Allied associated minor country.

-1      The Allies gain control of the Polish hexes and receive 20 BRPs from Poland.

0       The Allies receive 10 BRPs from Poland.

1-2    Poland continues any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect. Any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect is negated.

3‑4    Poland continues current policies.

5‑6    Poland continues any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect. Any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect is negated.

         Polish volunteers aid in the Axis crusade against Bolshevism. One Polish 2‑3 infantry unit may be lent to Germany to be used on the eastern front if Germany is at war with Russia. If eliminated, it may be rebuilt, but may not again be sent to Russia except after another diplomatic die roll for Poland.

7       The Axis receive 10 BRPs from Poland.

         Two Polish 2‑3 infantry units may fight against Russia, subject to the same conditions as for a "5-6" result.

8       The Axis gain control of the Polish hexes and receive 20 BRPs from Poland.

         Three Polish 2‑3 infantry units may fight against Russia, subject to the same conditions as for a "5-6" result.

9       Poland becomes an Axis associated minor country.

         Three Polish 2‑3 infantry units may fight against Russia, subject to the same conditions as for a "5-6" result.

10     Poland activates as an Axis minor ally worth 25 BRPs.

         Danzig and the Polish Corridor are incorporated into the Reich. The hexes in Danzig and the Polish Corridor are German for all purposes. Germany adds 5 BRPs to its BRP base and adds two AAF and four infantry factors to its force pool as allowable builds after the normal mobilization delays (four and two turns, respectively).

         Poland adds the Czech 2-5 armor unit to its force pool, provided Czechoslovakia has been occupied by Germany.