14. FACTORY CONVERSION AND MOBILIZATION
14.1 CONVERTING FACTORIES
14.2 COST OF CONVERTING TO CIVILIAN USE
14.3 COST OF CONVERTING TO MILITARY USE
14.4 RESTRICTIONS
14.5 MECHANICS
14.6 EFFECTS OF MOBILIZATIONS
14.7 ADDITIONAL UNITS
14.8 MOBILIZATION DELAYS
14.9 INITIAL MOBILIZATIONS
14.1 CONVERTING FACTORIES:
14.11 FACTORY CONVERSION: Each turn each major power may convert one existing factory to a different use at the indicated cost.
14.12 FACTORY CREATION PROHIBITED: New factories may not be created.
14.2 COST OF CONVERTING TO CIVILIAN USE:
14.21 COST: The cost of converting idle factories to civilian use is 10 tile points. This cost may be increased or decreased by random events.
14.3 COST OF CONVERTING TO MILITARY USE:
14.31 COST: The cost of converting both idle and civilian factories to military use (“mobilizing”) is 10 tile points, adjusted as follows:
A. YEAR: Minus one point for every year that has been played (1935: 10 points: 1936: 9 points; 1937: 8 points; 1938: 7 points; 1939: 6 points; 1940: 5 points; and so on).
B. EAI: Plus or minus the EAI for the current turn, as determined after all public random events are revealed.
The cost of mobilizing is decreased by a positive EAI.
The cost of mobilizing is increased by a negative EAI.
C. RANDOM EVENTS: The cost of mobilizing may be increased or decreased by random events.
14.4 RESTRICTIONS:
14.41 ONE CONVERSION PER TURN: Each major power may convert only one factory per turn.
14.42 CIVILIAN CONVERSION:
A. Russia normally may not convert idle factories to civilian use. This restriction does not apply to other major powers.
B. Military factories may not be converted to civilian use.
14.43 RUSSIAN MOBILIZATIONS:
A. GREAT PURGE: Russia may not mobilize in a turn in which a Great Purge occurs.
B. MOBILIZATION RATE: The frequency with which Russia may mobilize is governed by the Russian cohesion level in the turn it seeks to mobilize, not the Russian cohesion level in the turn of the previous Russian mobilization. The same restrictions apply to Russian mobilizations in A World at War:
Low Cohesion: Russia may mobilize once every five turns.
Medium Cohesion: Russia may mobilize once every four turns.
High Cohesion: Russia may mobilize once every three turns.
Full Cohesion: Russia may mobilize once every two turns.
C. MOBILIZATION OF CIVILIAN FACTORIES: Russia may only mobilize its civilian factories if Germany has committed aggression against Poland, including Danzig and the Polish Corridor without signing the Nazi-Soviet Pact, has violated the Nazi-Soviet Pact, or has committed aggression against the Baltic States.
14.44 DEMOBILIZATION PROHIBITED: A major power may not convert a military factory to civilian or idle status.
14.5 MECHANICS:
14.51 FACTORY CONVERSION SIMULTANEOUS: Factory conversion is done secretly and simultaneously by all major powers.
14.6 EFFECTS OF MOBILIZATIONS:
14.61 ADDITIONAL UNITS AND SHIPYARDS: Mobilizations generate one or more armor, infantry and air units, and may also trigger a shipbuilding increase.
14.62 REDUCED MAINTENANCE COSTS: Each military factory reduces the owning major power’s maintenance costs by one point.
14.7 ADDITIONAL UNITS:
14.71 GERMANY:
14.711 UNITS: Each German mobilization creates three units, as set out in the Mobilization Summary:
A. One armor unit or shipbuilding increase; plus
B. Any one of the following:
One infantry and one air unit;
Two infantry units; or
Two air units.
14.712 While Germany may mobilize, in addition to an armor unit or a shipbuilding increase, two infantry units or two air units, rather than one infantry and one air unit, Germany must balance this by later mobilizing two air units or two infantry units, as the case may be, so that by the time it is fully mobilized it has an equal number of infantry and air units.
14.713 RESTRICTIONS:
A. Germany may not mobilize more than one armor unit in the same turn.
B. Germany may not mobilize both an armor unit and a shipbuilding increase in the same turn.
C. Germany may mobilize only one shipbuilding increase per game. The initial German shipbuilding levels do not count against this limit.
14.72 ITALY:
14.721 UNITS: Each Italian mobilization creates two units, as set out in the Mobilization Summary:
A. Any two of the following:
One armor unit.
One infantry unit.
One air unit.
One shipbuilding increase.
14.722 RESTRICTIONS:
A. Italy may not mobilize more than one of each type of unit in the same turn.
B. Italy may not mobilize both an armor unit and a shipbuilding increase in the same turn.
C. Italy may not mobilize more than three armor units, including its initial armor unit, until it has achieved an Italian armor research result.
D. Italy may mobilize only one shipbuilding increase per game. The initial Italian shipbuilding levels do not count against this limit.
14.73 BRITAIN:
14.731 UNITS: Each British mobilization creates three units, as set out in the Mobilization Summary:
14.732 BRITAIN’S FIRST AND SECOND MOBILIZATIONS: Britain’s two pre-game mobilizations are considered to have created one armor unit, two shipbuilding increases, one infantry unit and two air units.
14.733 BRITAIN’S THIRD AND FOURTH MOBILIZATIONS:
A. UNITS: In its third and fourth mobilizations, Britain may create:
One armor unit, shipbuilding increase or air unit; plus
Five air units.
B. RESTRICTIONS: The following restrictions apply to the third and fourth British mobilizations:
One British mobilization may create no more than one armor unit or shipbuilding increase, plus two air units. A third air unit may be substituted for the armor unit or shipbuilding increase.
The other British mobilization must consist of three air units.
14.734 BRITAIN’S FIFTH TO SEVENTH MOBILIZATIONS:
A. UNITS: In each of its fifth to seventh mobilizations, Britain may create:
One armor unit, shipbuilding increase or air unit; plus
Two air units.
B. RESTRICTIONS: The following restrictions apply to Britain’s fifth to seventh mobilizations:
Britain may not mobilize both an armor unit and a shipbuilding increase in the same turn.
Britain may not mobilize a shipbuilding increase if it did so in its third or fourth mobilization.
Britain may not mobilize an infantry unit.
14.735 BRITAIN’S EIGHTH AND FINAL MOBILIZATION:
A. UNITS: In its eighth and final mobilization, Britain may create any three of the following:
One armor unit or a shipbuilding increase.
One infantry unit.
One or more air units.
B. RESTRICTIONS: The following restrictions apply to Britain’s eighth and final mobilization:
Britain may not mobilize both an armor unit and a shipbuilding increase.
Britain may not mobilize a shipbuilding increase if it did so in a previous mobilization.
14.736 GENERAL RESTRICTIONS:
A. UNITS: Britain’s eight mobilizations may create no more than eight shipbuilding increases or armor units and two infantry units. Britain’s remaining units must be air units.
B. ARMOR MOBILIZATIONS: Britain may not mobilize more than three armor units, including its initial armor unit, until it has achieved a British armor research result.
14.737 POST-1940 UNIT ADDITIONS: Starting in Spring 1941, Britain adds one armor, infantry or air unit to its reserve each turn. These additions are limited by the British counter mix. These additional units do not count against the BRP limit on Britain’s A World at War force pool (transition rule 4.56A).
14.74 FRANCE:
14.741 UNITS; Each French mobilization creates two units, as set out in the Mobilization Summary:
A. Any two of the following:
One armor unit.
One infantry unit.
One air unit.
14.742 RESTRICTIONS:
A. France may not mobilize more than one of each type of unit in the same turn.
B. France may not mobilize more than three armor units, including its initial armor unit, until it has achieved a French armor research result.
C. France may not mobilize shipbuilding increases.
14.743 POST-1940 UNIT ADDITIONS: Starting in Spring 1941, France adds one armor, infantry or air unit to its reserve each turn. These additions are limited by the French counter mix. These additional units do not count against the BRP limit on France’s A World at War force pool (transition rule 4.65A).
14.75 RUSSIA:
14.751 UNITS: Each Russian mobilization creates three units, as set out in the Mobilization Summary:
A. One of each of the following:
One armor unit.
One infantry unit.
One air unit.
14.752 RESTRICTIONS:
A. Russia may not mobilize more than one of each type of unit in the same turn.
B. Russia may not mobilize shipbuilding increases.
14.8 MOBILIZATION DELAYS:
14.81 Military units are subject to delay from when they are mobilized to the turn in which they may be built. There is no delay for shipbuilding. Once this period has elapsed, the military unit is placed in the Reserve portion of the major power’s player card.
14.82 Gathering Storm “reserve” military units are equivalent to A World at War “allowable builds”.
14.83 The mobilization delays in Gathering Storm are the same as those in A World at War.
Mobilization Delays - 14.83 |
|||||
Unit type |
|
||||
Delay |
|||||
|
2 turns |
||||
|
|
|
|
4 turns |
|
4 turns |
|||||
6 turns |
|||||
|
|
None |
|||
Note: A British infantry unit mobilized in Britain’s final mobilization (14.733A) takes 4 turns to come into play because it is mechanized. |
14.9 INITIAL MOBILIZATIONS:
14.91 The Gathering Storm mobilization restrictions as to the types of units major powers may mobilize are not applied to the pre-Gathering Storm mobilizations which establish the initial conditions for the game.
14.92 GERMANY: At the start of Gathering Storm, Germany has mobilized three times and has created the following nine units or their shipbuilding equivalent:
A. Two armor units.
B. Three infantry units.
C. Three air units.
D. One shipbuilding increase.
14.93 ITALY: At the start of Gathering Storm, Italy has mobilized three times and has created the following six units or their shipbuilding equivalent:
A. One armor unit.
B. Three infantry units.
C. Two air units.
14.94 BRITAIN: At the start of Gathering Storm, Britain has mobilized twice and has created the following six units or their shipbuilding equivalent:
A. One armor unit.
B. One infantry unit.
C. Two air units.
D. Two shipbuilding increases.
14.95 FRANCE: At the start of Gathering Storm, France has mobilized three times and has created the following six units:
A. One armor unit.
B. Three infantry units.
C. Two air units.
14.96 RUSSIA: At the start of Gathering Storm, Russia has mobilized five times and has created the following 15 units:
A. Four armor units.
B. Four infantry units.
C. Seven air units.