7.   DIPLOMACY

7.1     TRANSITION TO A WORLD AT WAR

7.2     MINOR COUNTRY DIPLOMATIC ALIGNMENTS

7.3     MINOR COUNTRY FORCES

7.4     AUSTRIA

7.5     CZECHOSLOVAKIA

7.6     ALBANIA

7.7     GREECE AND YUGOSLAVIA

7.8     CROATIA

7.9     SERBIA

7.1  TRANSITION TO A WORLD AT WAR

7.11  BASIC DP ALLOTMENTS:  Regardless of when war breaks out, A World at War rule 49.12 applies and the basic allotments of DPs for each European major power are: Germany, Britain, Russia: 3 each; Italy and France: 2 each.

7.12 ADDITIONAL DPs: If war breaks out in a Winter Gathering Storm turn, so that A World at War begins with a YSS followed by a Spring turn:

A. BRPs: Each European major power also receives one DP for every 100 BRPs (round down) in its BRP total, in accordance with A World at War rule 49.14.

B. WARSAW: Germany receives one DP for control of Warsaw if Germany gained control of central Poland during Gathering Storm.

C. ATHENS: Italy receives one DP for control of Athens if it gained control of Greece during Gathering Storm.

7.13 RUSSIAN COHESION: If Russia has not reached full cohesion, its basic DP allotment is reduced (transition rule 9.34).

7.14 AMERICAN DPs:

A. WAR BEFORE 1940: If the first turn of A World at War is prior to Spring 1940, the U.S. receives no DPs until 1940, when it conducts its 1940 YSS calculations normally, in accordance with the A World at War rules. A 1939 American mobilization or USAT reaching 10 or more has no effect until the 1940 YSS.

B. WAR IN 1940: If the first turn of A World at War is in 1940, the American DPs from the 1940 YSS are added to the starting Western Allied A World at War total. 1940 American mobilizations and USAT increases are not considered when doing the American 1940 YSS calculations.

C. WAR IN 1941: If the first turn of A World at War is in 1941, the U.S. conducts its 1941 YSS calculations as well, and the American DPs from both the 1940 and 1941 YSS are added to the starting Western Allied A World at War total. 1941 American mobilizations and USAT increases are not considered when doing the American 1941 YSS calculations.

D. The American DP level cannot be less than zero (A World at War rule 49.16).

 

7.2   MINOR COUNTRY DIPLOMATIC ALIGNMENTS:

7.21  The basic diplomatic alignments in A World at War are as follows:

 

Albania

+2

Norway

0

Austria

+5

Poland

0

Belgium/Lux

0

Rumania

+4

Bulgaria

+3

Serbia

-3

Croatia

+3

Spain

0

Czechoslovakia

-2

Sweden

0

Finland

0

Turkey

0

Greece

0

Ukraine

+1

Hungary

+5

Vichy France

0

Ireland

0

Yugoslavia

0

 

7.22  EFFECT OF GATHERING STORM DIPLOMATIC RESULTS: In addition to the effects on minor country force levels (7.31), Gathering Storm diplomatic results have the following effects:

A. ONE FLAG: On a die roll of “1” or “2”, the basic diplomatic alignment of the minor country is shifted by one in favor of the owning alliance faction.

B. TWO FLAGS: On a die roll of “1”, “2”, “3” or “4”, the basic diplomatic alignment of the minor country is shifted by one in favor of the owning alliance faction.

C. THREE FLAGS (TRADE PACT): The basic diplomatic alignment of the minor country is shifted by one in favor of the owning alliance faction without the need for a die roll. In addition, the Gathering Storm trade pact yields an economic penetration diplomatic result for the owning major power in A World at War (a “7” or “0” diplomatic result).

D. FOUR FLAGS: In addition to the effects of having three flags, on a die roll of “1” or “2”, the basic diplomatic alignment of the minor country is shifted by an additional one in favor of the owning alliance faction.

7.23  PRO-RUSSIAN MODIFIERS POSSIBLE:  A minor country with no basic diplomatic alignment that contains one or more Russian flags when Gathering Storm ends may have a pro-Russian basic diplomatic alignment in A World at War. This alignment benefits Russia, but not the Western Allies.

 

7.3  MINOR COUNTRY FORCES:

Minor Country Forces Table – 7.31

 

Army

Air

Naval

Partisans

 

2-3

1-3

2-5

AF

CA

DD

Ax

WA

Ru

Albania

-

2

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Austria

1

3

-

1

-

-

-

-

-

Belgium

1

3

-

1

-

-

-

-

-

Bulgaria

-

4

-

1

-

-

-

-

-

Croatia

-

4

-

-

-

-

1:2

-

-

Czech.

3

3

1

2

-

-

-

-

-

Denmark

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Egypt

-

-

-

-

-

-

0:2

-

-

Finland

4

-

-

1

-

-

-

-

-

Greece

1

6

-

1

1

2

-

1:2

1:2

Hungary

1

6

-

1

-

-

-

-

-

Iraq*

-

-

-

-

-

-

0:2

-

-

Ireland

-

-

-

-

-

-

2†

-

-

Netherlands

1

-

-

1

-

-

-

-

-

Norway

-

2

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Persia

-

-

-

-

-

-

0:2

-

-

Poland

3

7

-

2

-

-

-

2:4

-

Rumania

2

6

-

1

-

2

-

-

-

Serbia

1

4

-

1

-

-

-

1:2

1:2

Spain

7

-

1

2

3

3

3

2:4

2:4

Sweden

5

-

-

1

1

2

-

1:2

1:2

Turkey

7

-

1

2

2

3

2:4

2:4

Ukraine†

2

3

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Yugoslavia

1

5

-

1

-

-

-

2:4

2:4

 

7.31  MINOR COUNTRY FORCES: The basic minor country force levels are as set out in the Minor Country Forces Table. The force level for each minor country may, at the option of the side that has one or more flags in the minor country at the end of Gathering Storm, be left at the basic level or increased or decreased as follows:

A. ONE OR TWO FLAGS: Add or remove one ground unit, as follows:

B. THREE OR FOUR FLAGS (TRADE PACT): Add or remove a second ground unit, as follows:

C. EFFECTS CUMULATIVE: The force level effects of a trade pact are in addition to those of having one or two flags.

D. CHOICE MADE BY SIDE WITH THE ADVANTAGE: Whichever side has the diplomatic advantage in a minor country chooses whether to increase or reduce the forces of that minor country and exactly how to do so. Minor force level adjustments are optional.

E. TIMING: Minor country forces are adjusted at the end of Gathering Storm, before A World at War begins, after the effect of Gathering Storm diplomatic results are determined (7.22). Once these adjustments are made, they remain in effect for the remainder of the game.

F. SEQUENCE: The Axis adjust minor country force levels first, then the Western Allies, then Russia.

Historically, the Axis finished Gathering Storm with one or two flags in Finland, Greece and Yugoslavia. The Axis increased the Finnish forces by one 2-3 infantry unit, increased the Yugoslav forces by one 1-3 infantry unit, and removed one Greek 1-3 infantry unit.

7.32 UNCOMPLETED ITALIAN AGGRESSIONS:

A. ETHIOPIA: If Italy has attacked Ethiopia and war breaks out before the conquest is complete, when A World at War begins:

B. ALBANIA, GREECE AND YUGOSLAVIA: If Italy has attacked Albania, Greece or Yugoslavia and war breaks out before the conquest is complete, when A World at War begins:

7.33  FINLAND AND RUMANIA:  If there is no Nazi-Soviet Pact or if the Nazi-Soviet Pact line does not run through Finland or Rumania, the diplomatic modifiers relating to the Finnish border hexes and Bessarabia do not apply and no border war between Russia and Finland or Rumania can occur.

7.4  AUSTRIA

7.41 Unless Austria was annexed by Germany before the outbreak of war:

A. Austria consists of A World at War hexes R25, R26, R27, R28 and R29; S26, S27 and S28, with Vienna as its capital.

B. Austria is worth 10 BRPs.

C. Austria has a force pool of one 2-3 and three 1-3 infantry units, increased or decreased by its diplomatic alignment (7.31), and one army air factor.

7.42  At the outbreak of war, Austria will be in one of the following three states:

A. If the Anschluss has occurred during Gathering Storm, Austria is considered to be part of Germany for all purposes, the Austrian BRPs are part of the German BRP base and Austria has no force pool.

B. If Austria was the target of a contested aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm and survives Germany’s initial attack, it becomes an Allied minor ally until conquered and is not an eligible diplomatic target.

C. Otherwise Austria is neutral and the following diplomatic table is used. The basic Austrian diplomatic modifier may vary from +7 (pro-Axis modifiers) to +3 (pro-Allied modifiers) (7.22).

Austria

(+5)

General Modifiers:

  +/-3     Austria is an active minor ally following a diplomatic result of “10” or “-3”.

  +/-2     Austria is an associated minor country following a diplomatic result of “9” or “-2” or an enemy attack.

  +/-1     The Austrian hexes are controlled by a major power following a diplomatic result of “8” or “-1”.

  +/-1     For each unbuilt Austrian air or infantry unit.

  +/-1     For every five friendly ground/air factors in Austria.

  +/-1     For every five enemy ground/air factors in Austria.

Results:

-3      Austria activates as an Allied minor ally.

-2      Austria becomes an Allied associated minor country.

-1      The Allies gain control of the Austrian hexes and receive all the Austrian BRPs.

0       The Allies receive five BRPs from Austria.

1-2    Austria continues any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect. Any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect is negated.

3‑4    Austria continues current policies.

5‑6    Austria continues any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect. Any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect is negated.

7       The Axis receive five BRPs from Austria.

8       The Axis gain control of the Austrian hexes and receive all the Austrian BRPs.

9       Austria becomes an Axis associated minor country.

10    * Austria is incorporated into the Reich. All Austrian hexes become German for all purposes. The Austrian force pool is removed from play and Germany adds 10 BRPs to its BRP  base and adds one 4-6 armor unit, two AAF and two 3-3 infantry units to its force pool as allowable builds after the normal mobilization delays (six, four and two turns, respectively). If Germany has already produced a twelfth 3-6 or 4-6 armor unit, it adds infantry units to its force pool of the same BRP value as the produced armor unit.

         These effects are not reversed by a subsequent Allied conquest of Austria.

 

7.5  CZECHOSLOVAKIA

7.51 Unless some or all of Czechoslovakia was annexed by Germany before the outbreak of war:

A. Czechoslovakia consists of A World at War hexes O29, O30, P28, P29, P30, P31, Q29, Q30, Q31, Q32, Q33 and R30, with Prague as its capital. Hexes O29, O30, P28 and P29 have directional fortifications facing Germany. These fortifications are eliminated if Germany gains control of the Sudetenland.

B. Czechoslovakia is worth 10 BRPs.

C. Czechoslovakia has a force pool of two 2-3 and five 1-3 infantry units, increased or decreased by its diplomatic alignment (7.31), one 2-5 armor unit and two army air factors.

D. The Sudetenland consists of A World at War hexes O29, O30, P30 and P31. If the Sudetenland has been occupied by Germany, but the remainder of Czechoslovakia has not, these hexes are considered to be part of Germany and the Czech forces are reduced by two 1-3 infantry units.

7.52 At the outbreak of war, Czechoslovakia will be in one of the following three states:

A. If Germany was successful in carrying out aggression against Czechoslovakia during Gathering Storm, Czechoslovakia is considered to be part of Germany for all purposes.

B. If Czechoslovakia was the target of a contested aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm and survives Germany’s initial attack, it becomes an Allied minor ally until conquered and is not an eligible diplomatic target.

C. Otherwise Czechoslovakia is neutral and the following diplomatic table is used. The basic Czech diplomatic modifier may vary from 0 (pro-Axis modifiers) to -4 (pro-Allied modifiers) (7.22).

Czechoslovakia

(-2)

General Modifiers:

  +/-3     Czechoslovakia is an active minor ally following a diplomatic result of “10” or “-3”.

  +/-2     Czechoslovakia is an associated minor country following a diplomatic result of “9” or “-2” or an enemy attack.

  +/-1     The Czech hexes are controlled by a major power following a diplomatic result of “8” or “-1”.

  +/-1     For each unbuilt Czech air or infantry unit.

  +/-1     For every five friendly ground/air factors in Czechoslovakia.

  +/-1     For every five enemy ground/air factors in Czechoslovakia.

Additional Modifiers:

     -2     If France has not fallen (applicable only if the Axis are making the diplomatic die roll).

    +1     If Warsaw is under Axis control.

    +1     If Vienna is under Axis control.

    +1     If Budapest is under Axis control.

    +2     If the Sudetenland is under Axis control.

Results:

-3      Czechoslovakia activates as an Allied minor ally.

-2      Czechoslovakia becomes an Allied associated minor country.

-1      The Allies gain control of the Czech hexes and receive all the Czech BRPs.

0       The Allies receive five BRPs from Czechoslovakia.

1-2    Czechoslovakia continues any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect. Any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect is negated.

3‑4    Czechoslovakia continues current policies.

5‑6    Czechoslovakia continues any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect. Any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect is negated.

7       The Axis receive five BRPs from Czechoslovakia.

8       The Axis gain control of the Czech hexes and receive all the Czech BRPs.

9       Czechoslovakia becomes an Axis associated minor country.

10    * Czechoslovakia is incorporated into the Reich. All Czech hexes become German for all purposes. The Czech force pool is removed from play and Germany adds 10 BRPs to its BRP base and adds one 4-6 armor unit, two AAF and two 3-3 infantry units to its force pool as allowable builds after the normal mobilization delays (six, four and two turns, respectively). If Germany has already produced a twelfth 3-6 or 4-6 armor unit, it adds infantry units to its force pool of the same BRP value as the produced armor unit.

         These effects are not reversed by a subsequent Allied conquest of Czechoslovakia.

 

7.6  ALBANIA

7.61 Unless Albania was annexed by Italy before the outbreak of war, Albania is an independent minor country with a force pool of two 1-3 infantry units, increased or decreased by its diplomatic alignment (7.31).

7.62  At the outbreak of war, Albania will be in one of the following three states:

A. If Italy was successful in carrying out aggression against Albania during Gathering Storm, Albania is an Italian colony.

B. If Albania was the target of aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm and survives Italy’s initial attack, it becomes an Allied associated minor country until conquered and is not an eligible diplomatic target.

C. Otherwise Albania is neutral and the following diplomatic table is used. The basic Albanian diplomatic modifier may vary from +4 (pro-Axis modifiers) to 0 (pro-Allied modifiers).

7.63 While Albania is considered to be a Balkan country prior to the outbreak of war (Gathering Storm rule 4.16E), it is not a “Balkan” country for A World at War diplomatic purposes (A World at War rule 49.411A).

Albania

(+2)

General Modifiers:

  +/-3     Albania is an active minor ally following a diplomatic result of “10” or “-3”.

  +/-2     Albania is an associated minor country following a diplomatic result of “9” or “-2” or an enemy attack.

  +/-1     The Albanian hexes are controlled by a major power following a diplomatic result of “8” or “-1”.

  +/-1     For each unbuilt Albanian infantry unit.

  +/-1     For every five friendly ground/air factors in Albania.

  +/-1     For every five enemy ground/air factors in Albania.

Additional Modifier:

  +2       For each use of Russian subversion to modify a diplomatic die roll, other than for Albania in the diplomatic phase it is used.

Results:

-3      Albania activates as an Allied minor ally.

-2      Albania becomes an Allied associated minor country.

-1      The Allies gain control of the Albanian hexes and receive the Albanian BRPs.

0       The Allies receive five BRPs from Albania.

1-2    Albania continues any pro-Allied (“0” or “-1”) policy currently in effect. Any pro‑Axis (“7” or “8”) policy currently in effect is negated.

3‑4    Albania continues current policies.

5‑6    Albania continues any pro‑Axis (“7” or “8”) policy currently in effect. Any pro-Allied (“0” or “-1”) policy currently in effect is negated.

7      The Axis receive five BRPs from Albania.

8       The Axis gain control of the Albanian hexes and receive the Albanian BRPs.

9       Albania becomes an Axis associated minor country.

10     Albania activates as an Axis minor ally.

 

7.7 GREECE AND YUGOSLAVIA

7.71 Unless Greece or Yugoslavia were annexed by Italy before the outbreak of war, they are independent minor countries with their force pools increased or decreased by their diplomatic alignment (7.31).

7.72 At the outbreak of war, Greece and Yugoslavia will be in one of the following three states:

A. If Italy was successful in carrying out aggression against Greece or Yugoslavia during Gathering Storm:

B. If Greece or Yugoslavia was the target of aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm and survives Italy’s initial attack, it becomes an Allied minor ally until conquered and is not an eligible diplomatic target.

C. Otherwise Greece and Yugoslavia are neutral.

 

7.8  CROATIA

7.81 If Croatia has been established as a separate state as a result of successful Italian aggression against Yugoslavia or a Yugoslavian civil war in Gathering Storm:

A. Croatia consists of A World at War hexes T27, T28; U27, U28, U29, V26, V27, V28, W26, W27, W28, X26, X27, X28, Y27 and Y28, with Zagreb as its capital.

B. Croatia is worth 10 BRPs.

C. Croatia has a force pool of four 1-3 infantry units, increased or decreased by its diplomatic alignment (7.31).

D. Croatia’s diplomatic alignment at the start of A World at War may vary:

7.82 The The following diplomatic table is used for Croatia. The basic Croatian diplomatic modifier may vary from +5 (pro-Axis modifiers) to +1 (pro-Allied modifiers) (7.22). The restrictions and additional modifiers for Yugoslavia apply to Croatia.

Croatia

(+3)

Russia may not select Croatia for a diplomatic die roll until Russia is at war with Germany or the RGT level is 50 or more, although Russia may place DPs in Croatia before these conditions are met. This prohibition does not apply to the Western Allies (49.434).

General Modifiers:

  +/-3     Croatia is an active minor ally following a diplomatic result of “10” or “-3”.

  +/-2     Croatia is an associated minor country following a diplomatic result of “9” or “-2” or an enemy attack.

  +/-1     The Croatian hexes are controlled by a major power following a diplomatic result of “8” or “-1”.

  +/-1     For each unbuilt Croatian air or infantry unit.

  +/-1     For every five friendly ground/air factors in Croatia.

  +/-1     For every five enemy ground/air factors in Croatia.

Additional Modifiers:

  -2       If there is an Allied ground unit in the Balkans.

  +2       If Italy has not gone to war with the Western Allies.

Results:

-3      Croatia activates as an Allied minor ally.

-2      Croatia becomes an Allied associated minor country.

-1      The Allies gain control of the Croatian hexes and receive all the Croatian BRPs.

0       The Allies receive five BRPs from Croatia.

1-2    Croatia continues any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect. Any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect is negated.

3‑4    Croatia continues current policies.

5‑6    Croatia continues any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect. Any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect is negated.

7       The Axis receive five BRPs from Croatia.

8       The Axis gain control of the Croatian hexes and receive all the Croatian BRPs.

9       Croatia becomes an Axis associated minor country.

10     Croatia activates as an Axis minor ally.

7.9  SERBIA

7.91  If Serbia has been established as an independent state as a result of successful Italian aggression against Yugoslavia or Axis victory in a Yugoslavian civil war in Gathering Storm:

A. Serbia consists of A World at War hexes U30, V29, V30, W29, W30, X29, X30, Y29, Z28 and Z29, with Belgrade as its capital.

B. Serbia is worth 10 BRPs.

C. Serbia has a force pool of one 2-3 and four 1-3 infantry units, increased or decreased by its diplomatic alignment (7.31), and one army air factor.

7.92  The following diplomatic table is used for Serbia. The basic Serbian diplomatic modifier may vary from -1 (pro-Axis modifiers) to -5 (pro-Allied modifiers) (7.22).

Serbia

(-3)

Russia may not select Croatia for a diplomatic die roll until Russia is at war with Germany or the RGT level is 50 or more, although Russia may place DPs in Croatia before these conditions are met. This prohibition does not apply to the Western Allies (49.434).

General Modifiers:

  +/-3     Serbia is an active minor ally following a diplomatic result of “10” or “-3”.

  +/-2     Serbia is an associated minor country following a diplomatic result of “9” or “-2” or an enemy attack.

  +/-1     The Serbian hexes are controlled by a major power following a diplomatic result of “8” or “-1”.

  +/-1     For each unbuilt Serbian air or infantry unit.

  +/-1     For every five friendly ground/air factors in Serbia.

  +/-1     For every five enemy ground/air factors in Serbia.

Additional Modifiers:

  -2       If there is an Allied ground unit in the Balkans.

  +2       If Italy has not gone to war with the Western Allies.

Results:

-3      Serbia activates as an Allied minor ally.

-2      Serbia becomes an Allied associated minor country.

-1      The Allies gain control of the Serbian hexes and receive all the Serbian BRPs.

0       The Allies receive five BRPs from Serbia.

1-2    Serbia continues any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect. Any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect is negated.

3‑4    Serbia continues current policies.

5‑6    Serbia continues any pro‑Axis (“7” to “10”) policy currently in effect. Any pro-Allied (“0” to “-3”) policy currently in effect is negated.

7       The Axis receive five BRPs from Serbia.

8       The Axis gain control of the Serbian hexes and receive all the Serbian BRPs.

9       Serbia becomes an Axis associated minor country.

10     Serbia activates as an Axis minor ally.