2.   MAJOR POWERS AT WAR

2.1     MAJOR POWERS AT WAR

2.2     A WORLD AT WAR DECLARATIONS OF WAR

2.3     NEUTRAL MAJOR POWER ACTIONS IN A WORLD AT WAR

2.4     INITIAL TURN OF A WORLD AT WAR

2.5     RHINELAND

2.1  MAJOR POWERS AT WAR

2.11  GATHERING STORM: Gathering Storm ends when at least one major power declares war on another. Any major powers which declared war or had war declared upon them in Gathering Storm are at war at the start of A World at War. Historically, Germany, Britain and France were at war, while Italy and Russia were neutral.

2.2     A WORLD AT WAR DECLARATIONS OF WAR

2.21  GENERAL RESTRICTIONS: The following general restrictions apply to all declarations of war against major powers in A World at War:

A. WAR BETWEEN POTENTIAL ALLIES PROHIBITED: A declaration of war may not be made which would result in war between the eventual Axis partners (Germany, Italy and Japan) or the eventual Allied partners (Britain, France, the U.S., Russia and China) (A World at War rule 50.31A).

B. JOINT WARS BY POTENTIAL ENEMIES PROHIBITED: A declaration of war may not be made against a minor country if that minor country is at war with a neutral major power. A potential enemy major power may only become involved in a war between a neutral major power and a minor country by declaring war on the neutral major power (A World at War rule 50.31B).

C. FULL MOBILIZATION REQUIRED: Axis and Allied major powers which are not at war at the start of A World at War may not declare war on another major power until the turn after they are fully mobilized.

D. RUSSIAN DECLARATION OF WAR: Russia may declare war on Germany in the turn in which:

2.221  BRP COST AND USAT EFFECTS: The normal A World at War declaration of war costs (35 BRPs, USAT increases or decreases, except for the declaration of war that brings the U.S. into the European war) apply to all declarations of war on major powers except:

A. If Germany or Italy is at war with only one of Britain and France, the Axis major power that is at war may declare war on the neutral Western Allied major power at no BRP cost and with no USAT effects.

B. Similarly, the neutral Western Allied major power may declare war on the Axis major power that is at war with the other Western Allied major power at no BRP cost and with no USAT effects.

2.222 RESTRICTIONS: In addition to the general restrictions in 2.21:

A. GERMANY AT WAR WITH BOTH FRANCE AND BRITAIN: If Gathering Storm ends with Germany at war with France and Britain, with Italy and Russia neutral, the normal A World at War rules apply.

B. GERMANY AT WAR WITH ONE OF FRANCE OR BRITAIN: If Gathering Storm ends with Germany at war with one of France or Britain, with Italy, the other Western Allied major power and Russia neutral:

C. ITALY AT WAR WITH BOTH FRANCE AND BRITAIN: If Gathering Storm ends with Italy at war with France and Britain, with Germany and Russia neutral:

D. ITALY AT WAR WITH ONE OF FRANCE OR BRITAIN: If Gathering Storm ends with Italy at war with one of France or Britain, with Germany, the other Western Allied major power and Russia neutral:

E. GERMANY AT WAR WITH RUSSIA: If Gathering Storm ends with Germany at war with Russia, with Italy, Britain and France neutral:

2.3   NEUTRAL MAJOR POWER ACTIONS IN A WORLD AT WAR

2.31  Major powers which are not at war at the start of A World at War may declare war on neutral minor countries as permitted by A World at War rule 50.33. In addition:

A. GERMANY: Germany may not declare war on Belgium/Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Denmark, Norway or Ireland unless it is at war with either Britain or France. Germany may declare war on one or more of the listed minor countries in the same turn it declares war on Britain or France.

B. BRITAIN AND FRANCE: Britain and France may not declare war on Belgium/Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Denmark, Norway or Ireland unless they are at war with Germany. Britain and France may declare war on one or more of the listed minor countries in the same turn one of them declares war on Germany.

C. RUSSIA:

2.4  INITIAL TURN OF A WORLD AT WAR

2.41 The first turn of A World at War is the turn after the last turn of Gathering Storm (for example, if war broke out in Gathering Storm in Summer 1939, the first turn of A World at War is Fall 1939).

2.42  Regardless of how war breaks out, the normal sequence of play in A World at War applies. However, the restrictions on major power activity in the first turn of A World at War depends on how the war starts.

2.43  WAR IN SUPPORT OF A MINOR COUNTRY:  If war breaks out between one or more of Britain, France or Russia and Germany or Italy in support of a minor country, the minor country sets up its forces before the major powers set up. During the first Axis player turn, each Axis major power that conducted an aggression in the final turn of Gathering Storm:

A. DECLARATIONS OF WAR: May not declare war on any major powers or minor countries.

B. OFFENSIVES AND ATTRITIONS: May not conduct offensive operations or attritions other than against the minor country that was the target of aggression in final turn of Gathering Storm (EXCEPTION: Raiders - A World at War rule 21.5331).

C. THE SUDETENLAND: If war broke out over the Sudetenland, Germany is considered to be at war with Czechoslovakia.

D. DANZIG AND THE CORRIDOR: If war broke out over Danzig and the Corridor, Germany is considered to be at war with Poland.

E. ALBANIA: If A World at War begins with Italy invading Albania, Durazzo is considered to be under Italian control.

The normal A World at War rules do the rest: any Albanian 1-3 infantry units must deploy in Tirane and Albanian hexes other than Durazzo. Italy may therefore sea transport units into Durazzo. This sea transport may not be intercepted by the Western Allies if Italy uses destroyers based in the Adriatic.

The historical Italian conquest of Albania took five days, because, in game terms, Italian influence in Albania eliminated the Albanian forces.

2.44  ALLIED PRE-EMPTIVE WAR: If war breaks out as a result of an Allied pre-emptive declaration of war, rather than over a minor country, during the first Axis player turn of A World at War the Axis major power that is at war:

A. DECLARATIONS OF WAR: May not declare war on any major powers or minor countries.

B. OFFENSIVES AND ATTRITIONS: Is prohibiting from conducting any offensive operations or attritions, other than submarine warfare and raiding.

2.45  AXIS PRE-EMPTIVE WAR: If war breaks out as a result of an Axis pre-emptive declaration of war, neither side is subject to any special restrictions with respect to carrying out offensive actions or attritions or declaring war other than as set out in 2.2, above.

2.5  RHINELAND

2.51  Germany is considered to have remilitarized the Rhineland in the first turn of A World at War if war breaks out between Italy and the Western Allies before Germany has remilitarized the Rhineland in Gathering Storm (5.22).