1.   A WORLD AT WAR

1.1     WAR AS A CONTINUATION OF POLITICS

1.2     A WORLD AT WAR PARAMETERS

1.3     COMPLETING RESEARCH

1.4     UNUSED TILE POINTS AS BRPs

1.5     UNUSED ACTIVITY POINTS LOST

1.1     WAR AS A CONTINUATION OF POLITICS:

1.11 Clausewitz taught us that war is a continuation of politics by other means. Gathering Storm ends with the outbreak of war, which may be fought using the companion game A World at War.

1.12  The first turn of A World at War follows the final turn of Gathering Storm; for example, if war breaks out at the end of the Summer 1939 Gathering Storm turn, A World at War begins in Fall 1939.

1.2  A WORLD AT WAR PARAMETERS:

1.21  The outcome of Gathering Storm affects the follows aspects of A World at War:

A. Which major powers are at war at the start of A World at War, and when other major powers may enter the war.

B. How quickly major powers fully mobilize.

C. Major power force levels when war breaks out.

D. The BRP bases and starting BRP levels of each major power.

E. The starting research levels of each major power.

F. The territory and diplomatic alignment of minor countries.

G. The U.S.-Axis and Russo-German tension levels.

1.3  COMPLETING RESEARCH:

1.31 COMPLETING RESEARCH: Each alliance completes its research as best it can, applying Gathering Storm rule 33.2. All Gathering Storm research results, including partial results that modify A World at War research and production, are then revealed.

1.4  UNUSED TILE POINTS AS BRPs:

1.41  Gathering Storm tile points, as such, are worthless in A World at War, and therefore any tile points held by major powers when war breaks out are converted to A World at War  BRPs.

1.42  CONVERSION RATE: Each tile point is worth 3 BRPs.

1.43  LIMIT:  Each major power may use up to ten tile points to generate up to 30 additional BRPs for use in A World at War. Additional tile points have no effect.

1.44  EFFECT: These additional BRPs do not affect the major power’s BRP base, but instead supplement the major power’s at start BRP level on the first turn of A World at War (5.41B).

1.5 UNUSED ACTIVITY POINTS LOST:

1.51 CIVIL WAR COUNTERS: One activity counters from a civil war diplomatic advantage or result (Gathering Storm rules 24.54A, 25.55A) in the final turn of Gathering Storm have no effect in A World at War.

1.52 SAVED SHIPBUILDING POINTS: Saved shipbuilding points (Gathering Storm rule 19.75) do not carry over into A World at War.